you're reading...
"Living" in Godiva World, Godiva World LIving

Moments like this…….

Right this moment, I am on the cusp of a major life change and couldn’t be more excited about it!

replace fearAt the same time, I’d be lying (to you) and myself if I said this does not bring about bouts of self-doubt, second-guessing, fear, uncertainty and the like.

With change and growth comes discomfort and it is in that period that the magic actually happens if WE are open to embrace the discomfort.

Being the planner and [overly] analytical human being I am, trust that the WORK has been done and done again and again and again to enable me to reach this point with any sense of certainty.  I believe (and live by) the mantra that if one has done the work upfront then they themselves are better prepared for what may come.  Meaning, I’ve looked at the what ifs, if nots, benefits, potential disasters, and such.  I’ve answered the questions and still returned the answer of “YES this can be accomplished; YES this is the right move; and YES you are prepared” which further substantiates my decision.

The irony and beauty (at the same time) is that during this moment of execution is the moment when most of the second-guessing occurs.  I was reminded however that the things being hurled my way are merely “fools gold” and presented to test my faith, believe, and trust in myself.  No truer words have been spoken…..so back to my plan.

In these moments I chuckle internally that the fact that most [who know me] assume I have it all figured out and most times I do.  However the work behind that confidence and can-do attitude is tedious, long, taxing, repetitive, and sometimes chaotic.  I’ve learned over time that there is always a method to my internal madness and as long as I can arrive to a place of calm, peace, certainty then all is right with the world.

living vs existingHaving a plan does not guarantee that everything will go well, but a thoroughly laid-out plan will ensure that one has at best accounted for all things – those things that can go right and that which could go totally sideways.  Most importantly prepares you to handle the less than desirable even if you have ZERO answers.

So as I sit on the edge of my life, looking internally from the outside I see the power of being fully present, the power in NEVER riding passenger in your life and especially not that of another, the beauty in controlling your destiny as much as possible by making those difficult, frightening decisions when the other choice is often as simple as doing nothing.  The countdown has begun and I admit I am quite excited about whats to come.  One thing’s for certain, I will ALWAYS control my life and make decision for me.  Simply ‘being’ and ‘exiting’ is never enough for without action and forward motion life is not and the time given is not maximized.

too much too beGo forth and prosper.

Believe. Have Faith. Hope.  Dream.  Live!!

About A.S.B

Just one small child in this big big world looking to live outloud, explore, learn, and love one destination at a time. Here to share my world with those who want to follow me in this journey!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Moments like this…….

  1. Very thoughtful and well said. It is not surprising that a fellow capricorn is continuing to be in control of their destiny. Good luck my friend and keep it moving forward.

    Posted by Tony Oglesby | November 7, 2013, 12:54 pm
    • Wow what a pleasant surprise and lovely comment from a dear friend, trusted confidant, and one whom I’ve looked to as a mentor/example over time!

      We Capricorns are a special bunch, always focusing on our next step! I look forward to this next chapter!

      Thank you!!

      Posted by Godivaatl | November 7, 2013, 1:05 pm
  2. As someone that just went/is going through a majorities change, I co-sign with everything you’ve written here. Life is meant to be exciting!

    Posted by JR | November 9, 2013, 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Godiva Days

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

An International Affair

My BIG Birthday CelebrationJanuary 9th, 2014
I celebrated in BALI INDONESIA! It was A-MAZING!

TootToot! ahhhhh TweetTweet!

Godiva World – Birdseye view

Godiva’s Fave Things

Godiva World

