you're reading...
Godiva World Lessons

When life happens….don’t fight it, embrace it!!

One thing’s for certain, two things for sure and that’s the fact that life WILL happen!  Be it good, bad, or indifferent, to live is to experience life in all its flavors but to truly live is to allow oneself to embrace life as it happens without letting the moment define your next moment.


Realize that true happiness lies within you. Waste no time and effort searching for peace and contentment and joy in the world outside. Remember that there is no happiness in having or in getting, but only in giving. Reach out. Share. Smile. Hug. Happiness is a perfume you cannot pour on others without getting a few drops on yourself.  – Og Mandino

Embracing life when it’s good is equally as important as doing so during the notsofeelgood moments as it is in those moments that often the greatest lessons are taught.  As life is truly one big lesson (I believe) for which we are given a test to see just how well we’ve paid attention, I’ve learned to not fight this thing called life because it will inevitably happen…..with or without my assistance.

Think about all those moments when something positive happened………………………..okay now I’m most certain in the moment you proclaimed just how wonderful life was, how you deserved whatever was bestowed upon you and blah blah blah.  Now take that same pause to reflect upon the notsofeelgood moments………………………………if I know like I think I do (or as I’ve heard time and time again) we often asked “why” or “why me” and my question to those pondering such is why not?

Next time you’re in a less than desirable situation, as painful as it may be, instead of asking why, dig deep and think of the blessing or perhaps how fortunate you are as even in one’s lowest moments it can always be worst.

When asked why am I always smiling or how do I remain so positive and upbeat, i am often stumped for an answer as I know no other way to be.  For allowing life’s moments to paralyze me will only hurt ME so I tend to take life by the balls no matter what comes my way.  In doing so, I am thankful, grateful, and more appreciative of each and every moment, not just the bountiful, the beautiful.

Embracing life does not mean ignoring that which is unpleasant nor turning a blind eye to pain, no it (again, I believe) is embracing and facing it head on.  In the midst of pain, I allow myself to feel; in the midst of disappointment; I allow myself to feel; in the midst of happiness; yes I allow myself to feel and once I feel, I fully acknowledge and own it without losing sight of my next step, my purpose, my goals.

Honestly, who wants to live in a one-sided world without being challenged in every way possible as it is through our challenges do we stretch ourselves to see exactly what we are made of.

So I challenge you to embrace life, the good, the bad, and the notsofeelgood as you will find in doing so you come out much better on the other side.

Cry. Forgive. Learn. Move on. Let your tears water the seeds of your future happiness.  – Steve Maraboli

About Godiva ATL

Just a regular gal, with a regular life and love of travel, meeting new people - never met a stranger and making a difference somewhere, somehow. Just looking to explore the world one destination at a time and take a few folks with me on my journey!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Godiva Days

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

An International Affair

My BIG Birthday CelebrationJanuary 9th, 2014
I celebrated in BALI INDONESIA! It was A-MAZING!

TootToot! ahhhhh TweetTweet!

Godiva World – Birdseye view

Godiva’s Fave Things

Godiva World

