you're reading...
"Living" in Godiva World, Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: THANKFUL

As Thanksgivings was just last week, hence why I’m just now posting my ‘contribution’ to this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge (as I was traveling), this Challenge is right.on.time!!

The photo above is of my mother and I drawn by my father who remains a most talented artist.  For me, this picture is the epitome of thankful for me as I am most thankful for having such a wonderful, kind, gentle, nurturing, supportive, sweet, caring, and thoughtful (to name a few) mother who is still alive and relatively healthy.

See I grew up an only child (until I was about 14 and my parents ‘somehow’ had a baby lol) and not just an only child but an army brat which meant changing schools and friends nearly every 2 years.  My mother, Brenda, was and still remains my biggest cheerleader, supporter, and consummate Angel on earth!

For those who come into contact with her, the response is ALWAYS the same – ‘wow she is just the sweetest, kindest, most caring individual’ and I couldn’t agree more.  So for this post, I am THANKFUL that my mother remains a constant reminder in my life that there are some really good people in this world; that a mother is the best thing to happen to a child who then becomes an adult who then bears children herself thereby becoming a mother.  It takes more than just birthing a child to become a mother and mine exemplifies what a true mother was intended to represent.

I may not be as kind nor gentle as she, however I am thankful that I inherited even a slithering of her best traits in hopes of being a productive yet caring citizen of this great world.

I am thankful that not only is my mother a kind soul but she is still a healthy soul able to be apart of my life.

I am thankful that my mother is able to live her life and not be forced to help me live/support mine nor have her prime years interrupted due to my lack of responsibility or disregard for my own children<—this kills me when I hear about it from friends and others.

I am thankful that my life has enabled me over time to provide my mother with little luxuries as my way of showing my appreciation. (took her and my dad, sister and my family to PR several years ago on her birthday.)

I am THANKFUL that my mother showed me what it means to do for others for no other reason than because you can by doing so herself.

Above all else, I am THANKFUL for having a mother who showed what it means to be a mother by doing just that – being a mother!!

For these things, I am THANKFUL!!

About Godiva ATL

Just a regular gal, with a regular life and love of travel, meeting new people - never met a stranger and making a difference somewhere, somehow. Just looking to explore the world one destination at a time and take a few folks with me on my journey!

Discussion

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: THANKFUL

  1. A beautiful tribute to your mother. I hope she gets to read this 🙂

    Posted by Colline | November 26, 2012, 6:51 pm
  2. A beautiful painting of a beautiful mother with her beautiful daughter! 😉 She sounds like she’s an amazing mom, you’re right moms are more than enough reason to be thankful!

    Posted by Aian Ramos | November 26, 2012, 9:16 pm
  3. Touching tribute to your mom and beautiful picture too… our memories of loved ones keep our spirits soaring. TY! 🙂

    Posted by eof737 | November 27, 2012, 10:06 pm
  4. Thanks for following my blog, yours is Superb, well done, looking forward to reading your posts! Peace-:)

    Posted by Seyi sandra | November 28, 2012, 12:30 pm
  5. You are twice blessed. Once because you are, and twice because you know it. I am so glad for you.

    Posted by Naomi Baltuck | November 28, 2012, 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Godiva Days

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

An International Affair

My BIG Birthday CelebrationJanuary 9th, 2014
I celebrated in BALI INDONESIA! It was A-MAZING!

TootToot! ahhhhh TweetTweet!

Godiva World – Birdseye view

Godiva’s Fave Things

Godiva World

