you're reading...
Godiva World People, Uncategorized

People and WHY I love them

As my life has randomly placed me in some random situations with random people and in most cases situations where under normal circumstances I would NEVER have befriended nor had the opportunity to befriend these random people.  I’ve learned the importance of being open-minded to new, different, random people for all it is worth.  Although I have NEVER “met a stranger” let’s be real, any new person penetrating your world is, well, a stranger.  However, to me, a stranger is just someone I haven’t had the opportunity to befriend yet.

I digress however, as the topic is “People and WHY I love them” so sticking to topic as I  sit in this hotel room after a most lovely day with someone I may never have had the opportunity to hang out with if not for our chosen career and working relationship.  It occurred to me that a) I have always embraced people no matter race, color, religion, economic level, background, etc., b)  I learned a long time ago that externally people may be different but often, the chemical makeup of a person, may be very similar to you, c) I prefer my circle of ‘friends’ to be a diverse smorgasbord where lessons are learned, ideas exchanged, and different perspectives lend itself to seeing the world through a different lens.

Too often, people will say, “oh no we don’t have anything in common” or “nah I why would I be friends with them” and I get that but I also get that embracing people who are different from you opens up a whole new world filled with new experiences, new views on life, and often a new or different view of oneself.  In my quest to live life, one experience at a time, the many things I have accomplished and/or experienced have come as a result of someone I was fortunate to spend time with by virtue of their life/lifestyle opening an entirely different door to life.

It’s like that cliche or adage (is that the same? anyhow) “you don’t know what you don’t know” and you will never learn otherwise by surrounding yourself with people who are JUST LIKE you!  Much like the comment I heard the other night on some news channel where the guest was talking about his travels.  He said, “I’ve learned that it is only through traveling myself that I realized that the world we are led to believe or see on t.v. is often much different when we see it with our own eyes”.  Same goes for people in that often what we hear about people (be it stereotypes, generalizations, etc.) or make up in our minds about them/those who appear different from ourselves is shattered once we spend a little time with them only then do we realize that we may have alot more in common and not be different at all.

So I encourage you to meet someone new for no other reason than to broaden your horizons or simply learn something you may otherwise not have if you had not taken a chance.  At the end of the day, by extending yourself or diversifying your circle you may find that your life has now opened up in ways you yourself never imagined!

 

About Godiva ATL

Just a regular gal, with a regular life and love of travel, meeting new people - never met a stranger and making a difference somewhere, somehow. Just looking to explore the world one destination at a time and take a few folks with me on my journey!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Godiva Days

September 2012
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

An International Affair

My BIG Birthday CelebrationJanuary 9th, 2014
I celebrated in BALI INDONESIA! It was A-MAZING!

TootToot! ahhhhh TweetTweet!

Godiva World – Birdseye view

Godiva’s Fave Things

Godiva World

